Sweet Potato, Apple and Bacon Hash

Sweet potato, apple, bacon, hashEggs. I used to LOVE eggs. Any time I was “on my own” for dinner = eggs. And then I started my Whole30. I still eat eggs, but I’m losing the joy. Quickly. Then along came this recipe as a change of pace! Woot!

The original recipe called for pancetta, which I’m sure is awesome. But at the making point I had complaint bacon and I was full steam ahead!

And another confession. I didn’t “follow” the recipe so well. I had already cooked a sweet potato…so I used that. Which means it was not peeled and it was cooked. Anyway, it did not affect my enjoyment of the dish. But i do plan to follow the dish a little more closely next go ’round.

Ingredients:

  • 6 ounces bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 large apple, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1-2 tablespoons coconut oil, butter, or ghee (if needed)
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1/2 cubes
  • 1 teaspoon dried sage
Directions

In a medium skillet over medium heat, cook bacon 3-5 minutes or until crispy. Remove bacon and set aside. Leave the drippings in the pan.

Add onion, apples, and cinnamon to the pan and cook about 7 minutes or until soft. Remove from pan and add to the bacon, set aside.

If necessary, add 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil (or other ) to pan and melt. Add sweet potatoes and cook for 2 minutes – do not stir the potatoes just let them cook. Stir once and cook another 2 minutes. Minimally stir to make sure all sides brown but don’t burn, in 2 minute increments. It should take about 10 minutes total for the sweet potatoes to cook.

Add the apples, onions and bacon back to the pan. Stir in the sage and let the mixture warm through.

Enjoy!

Bee

Recipe Source: Gutsy by Nature

Leave a Reply

