Savory Mushroom Omelet

I know. It’s silly. But this is the first omelet I’ve ever made. Like I said, I know. I suppose I’ve always thought it was more complicated. It’s not. Really the trick is lifting the edge, tilting the pan and letting the uncooked stuff flow underneath. Plus the right temperature pan, medium-high.

Well I’m sure you can guess. Ryan is out of town, time for eggs!

  • 1 tsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 2 Tbsp Chive and Onion cream cheese (reduced fat)

Heat oil in small non-stick pan on medium-high heat. Add mushrooms, cook and stir for 2 minutes

Add eggs and pepper, cook 2-3 minutes or until eggs are almost set, lifting the edge with a spatula tilting the skillet. Allow the uncooked portion of the egg to flow underneath. When egg mixture is set but top is still slightly moist, top the omelet with small spoonfuls of cream cheese.

Slip spatula underneath the omelet, gently fold omelet in half. Slide onto plate!

Enjoy!

B.

Source: “Spread a Little Joy”, p.53

2 thoughts on “Savory Mushroom Omelet

  1. Free form! That’s funny. I really have never tried to make an omelet before, don’t know why. It was actually pretty easy. 🙂 I think I’ll experiment again tonight with some other flavor combinations!

    PS. Thanks for being a loyal follower! You might be the only one 🙂

Leave a Reply

