Vegetable Lasagna

Our next door neighbor is having a difficult time, so we thought we’d be neighborly and make her dinner. By we, I mean me, but I have to give credit – Ryan did have the same idea. I saw this recipe earlier on Jbean Cuisine‘s Blog. I put my own touches on this to make it easier for me, but I want to make sure I give credit where credit is deserved. Thanks Jbean Cuisine!

Since there are only two of us, I rarely make a 9″x 13″ lasagna, I prefer an 8″ x 8″. That’s what I did! I actually made two with the below recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of lasagna noodles
  • 1 large jar of pasta sauce
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 large zucchini, sliced thinly
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 2 bags of ready to eat baby spinach
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 24 ounces of cottage cheese (1 large container)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup parmesan, finely grated
  • 3.5 cups mozzarella, shredded (about 1 and half bags)
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions:

Start your oven broiler on HI.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, add several large pinches of salt before adding the lasagna noodles.  Cook as directed on the box. 

Place zucchini strips on a baking sheet, spray lightly with olive oil spray and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place under broiler for 2 minutes, remove and set-aside. Turn your oven onto Bake at 375.

Heat a splash of olive oil in a large pan on medium-high heat. Add the minced garlic and cook for about 30 seconds.  Add the spinach to the pan and cook until spinach is wilted, but still green. Remove from heat and set-aside.

In a large bowl, combine the cottage cheese, eggs, 1/2 cup of parmesan and 3/4 cup of mozzarella.  Season with salt and pepper and mix well. 

Now you’re going to build your lasagna(s). Take your two 8×8 baking dishes and follow the layering (from bottom up):

  • Sauce
  • Lasagna Noodles (three, slightly overlapping)
  • Zucchini strips (all)
  • Sauce
  • Mozzarella
  • Lasagna Noodles
  • Cottage Cheese mixture (all)
  • Spinach Saute (all)
  • Drained Diced tomatoes (1 can per lasagna)
  • Mozzarella
  • Lasagna Noodles
  • Sauce

Cover with foil and cook for 1 hour. After the hour, pull the lasagna and top with mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Return to the oven for 17-20 minutes, or until the cheese browns.

Let the lasagna rest for 10-15 minutes before serving!

Just a couple of notes about the recipe. For me lasagna is really a feel kind of dish. I didn’t really pay tooooo close attention to how much cheese or sauce I used in each layer. I just slap it on there!

Other than that, tonight I only cooked the lasagna for my neighbor – which means, no picture today! I ‘m planning to cook our lasagna on Wednesday night, so I’ll post a picture then! 

I can’t wait for Wednesday. Enjoy!

B.

source: Jbean cuisine Thanks!

Zucchini & Spinach Lasagna on FoodistaZucchini & Spinach Lasagna

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Lasagna

Leave a Reply

