Panko-Breaded Fried Shrimp

Last night when I was laying in bed, I got the strangest inspiration to make fried shrimp. Fried shrimp always reminds me of family vacations to the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Our family went a lot when I was little, so what do kids eat at seafood restaurants?Popcorn shrimp (or chicken fingers, but that’s another recipe). Eventually, we graduate to fried shrimp instead, and graduate we did. I’ve never made fried shrimp at home, but I was certain I could make it happen with Panko bread crumbs. And make it happen we have!

Ingredients:

  • 15 – 21/30 Shrimp, thawed, peeled, de-tailed
  • 2 cups Panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • Salt
  • 3-4 Tbsp vegetable oil

In a large skillet, get your vegetable oil heating up to medium heat. {I used just enough to cover the bottom of the pan I was using in a very thin layer. I’m not into deep frying, only mildly frying!}

Put your flour in another bowl and coat your shrimp in flour, shaking off any excess. Add your egg to a small bowl and beat with 2 tablespoons of water and a pinch of salt. Next dip your shrimp into the egg wash, then it’s into the Panko bread crumbs.

Be sure to coat both sides of Panko, pressing gently so the crumbs adhere. 

Place the shrimp into the hot oil in a single layer. Cook for about 3 minutes, then flip over and cook another 3 minutes. You’re trying to get the shrimp pink and the crust a soft brown. Remove from the oil with a slotted spoon, onto a paper towel covered plate. (Absorb some of the remaining oil.)

I added pan sautéed zucchini and a side of cocktail sauce. Voila, dinner!

Enjoy, B.

Leave a Reply

