Huevos Rancheros – Ole!

Huevos rancheros or something like it. Really I use this term to mean eggs, cheese, with a tex-mex flair, kind of like a quesadilla. I’ll be honest, today was rough and I was craving the idea of not cooking. But not eating out. So cooking something easy, yummy, Mexican (cause it’s my fave) and QUICK. Eggs are my go-to protein. Like I said before, it’s what I eat when my husband is out-of-town!

Lucky for him, he was in town, and got to enjoy this tasty treat with me!

  • 4 Large eggs
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Splash of milk
  • Black beans
  • 2  flour tortillas
  • 3 slices of white american cheese
  • Chopped tomato
  • Torn cilantro
  • Salsa
  • Optional: Jalapeno slices (pickled or fresh) 
  • Optional: Lite sour cream

Preheat the oven to 350.

Get your eggs started in a scramble. I like to add a splash of milk to the eggs before I whisk them, just makes them a little softer. When they are done, add a little salt and pepper.

On a baking sheet, lay out the flour tortilla. Put a spoonful of drained black beans down on half the tortilla, remember the plan is to fold it over. On top of the beans pull apart the white American cheese slices into pieces and spread around. {White American cheese is actually what most mexican restaurants use to make their quesa blanco. Funny you know?}

If you’re going to use jalapeno, put them in now. Top with the scrambled eggs. (You can reserve some of the cheese and put it on top of the eggs) Fold the tortilla shell over in half.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes, or until heated all the way through.

Top with tomato, cilantro, salsa and sour cream. Dig in!

Leave a Reply

