Angel Hair with Turkey Meatballs (day 2, Meatball Sammies)

I love ground turkey as a substitute for ground beef. You can find it at most grocery stores. I’ve found that stores like Harris Teeter have their own brand but places like Food Lion carry the Jennie-O brand. Two notes, one: make sure you buy the 99% fat free (I’m not a fan of the 92%), and two, ground turkey is slimy and stickey. Just FYI. 🙂

Couple of ways to do this:
Prep, cook, eat
If you’re going to cook these immediately, get a baking sheet out and put a piece of foil over it – spray with Pam. Preheat your oven to 350. You can warm your sauce on the stove and add the meatballs while you cook the pasta.

Prep, cook later, eat later
If cooking later, get a plate out (usually a dinner plate is fine). Make the meatballs and cover with plastic wrap – refrigerate until ready to cook. Then follow above.

Prep, cook, eat next day
Cook, then remove from baking dish into plasticware, refrigerate. When you get home from work, put meatballs and sauce into crockpot. Put temperature on low for about 35 minutes or until hot. Cook pasta then serve.

Turkey Meatballs

  • 1lb 99% Fat Free Ground Turkey (you can use ground beef, chicken, pork)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper {note typically, I would say a shake of the last three…but I wanted to put some numbers to it.}
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs

Combine these ingredients in a mixing bowl using your hands. Just mush it together until it seems like the egg is incorporated and you’re starting to get a consistent texture throughout the bowl. Grab about the size of an ice cream scoop (just a little smaller) and start to roll into balls. You want the meatballs to be about the size of when you put your index finger to the tip of your thumb in a circle. Try to keep them about the same size so they will cook evenly. I got 17 meatballs (random number, I know.)

Either put them on the “Pam’ed” baking sheet or on the plate and cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate.

When you’re ready, put the meatballs on the baking sheet into a 350 oven for 15 minutes. At this point, I get my crockpot out and put an entire jar of Pasta sauce on keep warm. When my meatballs were done, I transferred them into the crockpot and went about whatever business I was doing. When we were ready to eat, I boiled Angel Hair pasta (1/2 box for two people).

So we had a total of 17 meatballs. I gave my husband about 1/3 more pasta than I gave myself with four meatballs and myself three meatballs. Topped with a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese and parmesan cheese. I, of course, added crushed red pepper flakes because – you’ll see – I like it spicy!

With the left overs, we are having Meatball sandwiches for lunch!

If you try it, let me know what you think 🙂

B.

Leave a Reply

